kleines Logo

St. John's Day Singing ...

Ever since the monastery's foundation in the 10th cent., St. John the Baptist has been the patron saint of Walsrode Abbey. The medieval stained glass window shows him in his camel hair gown, leather belt and the lamb as reference to the crucified and risen Jesus Christ.

Abbey Chapel


< View of the nave

St. John's Day on 24th June is an important day in the annual calendar as Midsummer's Day. Many traditions were linked to this day, and even now Midsummer's Day is a widely celebrated.
Since the 1980s, the Convent has celebrated this holiday with a public singing in the monastery chapel. Many guests from Walsrode and further afield congregate in the chapel in order to join in communal singing of summery songs - church hyms as well as secular songs. The Superintendent and the choirmaster of the town's church and sometimes a choir support Convent and visitors in the joyful "St. John's Day Singing".

Konvent


< In the Long Hall

After a brief break, the Convent then re-enters the chapel to the tolling of the monastery bell dressed in their solemn habit to celebrate a church service with the visitors.

This is the only regular church service in the chapel. On Sundays, the Convent attends the service in the Town Church: dressed in cope and bonnet, the ladies of the convent take their accustomed places in the "Prieche", a secluded stall in the church's chancel.

kleines Logo

Das Johannissingen ...

Johannes der Täufer ist seit der Gründung im 10. Jahrhundert der Schutzpatron des Klosters Walsrode. Im mittelalterlichen Glasfenster der Kapelle ist er mit seinem Gewand aus Kamelhaar, dem Ledergürtel und dem Lamm als Hinweis auf den gekreuzigten und auferstandenen Jesus Christus dargestellt.

Klosterkapelle


< Blick in die Kapelle

Der Johannistag, der 24. Juni, ist auch als Tag der Sommersonnenwende ein wichtiger Tag im Jahresablauf. Viel Brauchtum war mit diesem Tag verbunden und noch heute ist Mittsommer ein beliebter Anlass zum Feiern.
Der Konvent begeht diesen Festtag seit den 1980er Jahren mit einer öffentlichen Andacht in der Klosterkapelle. Viele Walsroder und auswärtige Gäste versammeln sich in der Kapelle, um gemeinsam Lieder zu singen - Lieder aus dem kirchlichen Gesangbuch wie auch Lieder mit weltlichem Charakter. Superintendent und Kantor der Stadtkirche gestalten diese Andacht unter einem Thema und manchmal unterstützen Solisten oder Chor Konvent und Besucher beim fröhlichen Johannissingen.

Konvent


< im Langen Gang

In feierlicher Tracht zieht der Konvent zum Läuten der Klosterglocke in die Kapelle ein, um gemeinsam mit den Besuchern das Johannissingen zu feiern.

Dies ist der einzige regelmäßige Gottesdienst in der Kapelle, denn der Konvent besucht den sonntäglichen Gottesdienst in der Stadtkirche, nimmt dort in Schleier und Chormantel die festgelegten Plätze in der Prieche, einem abgegrenzten Bereich im Chorraum der Kirche, ein.