kleines Logo

The Herring Gift ...

The Herring Gift, same as the St. John's Day Singing, was reintroduced by Abbess Lichte-Pfannkuche in the 1980s.

The Herring Gift dates back to a charitable donation by Pelleke von Hodenberg in 1522. From a capital of 100 golden guilders, an annual gift of white bread and unbleached cloth to the value of eight shillings was to be made to pupils and poor people, and of white bread to the same value to the "spinsters of the convent". In 1548, the gift was converted to a "tone of herring and as much bread as required"; however, later only bread was given, then corn or flour and ultimately just cash.

Detail Horseshoe

In 1902, Abbess von Marschalk complained about the misuse of the monastery's gift of money from the Herring Gift. Pupils would only "blow" the money, while needy women were embarrassed to accept flour or corn. Because the monastery's charitable tasks had increased considerably, the Herring Gift was integrated into the monastery's general poor relief, despite the protests of the schoolmaster who used to receive a payment for its distribution.

On the occasion of the monastery's 1000th anniversary, Abbess Lichte-Pfannkuche revived the Herring Gift in a form more suited to the modern age: every two years, Year 4 pupils in Walsrode schools are given sweet herring-shaped cakes which the ladies of the convent, dressed in their festive gown on this special day, hand out to the children visiting the monastery.

kleines Logo

Die Heringsspende ...

Wie auch das Johannissingen wurde die Heringsspende von Äbtissin Lichte-Pfannkuche in den 1980er Jahren erneut eingeführt.

Die Heringsspende geht zurück auf eine Stiftung der Pelleke von Hodenberg aus dem Jahre 1522. Aus einem Vermögen von 100 Goldgulden sollten jährlich „für acht Schillinge Weißbrot und Graulaken an Schüler und arme Leute" sowie für den gleichen Betrag Weißbrot an die „Jungfrauen des Klosters" verteilt werden. 1548 wurde die Spende umgewandelt in „eine Tonne Heringe und so viel Brot, als dazu nötig sei", aber später wurde nur Brot, dann Getreide oder Mehl und schließlich bare Münze ausgeteilt.

Hufeisen

Im Jahre 1902 beklagte die damalige Äbtissin v. Marschalk den Missbrauch des Klostergroschens aus der Heringsspende. Die Schüler würden das Geld nur „verjubeln" und den bedürftigen Frauen sei die Annahme von Mehl oder Getreide peinlich. Da die mildtätigen Aufgaben des Klosters sehr zugenommen haben, wird die Heringsspende trotz des Protestes des Schulmeisters, der für die Austeilung einen Geldbetrag erhalten hatte, in die allgemeine klösterliche Armenfürsorge überführt.

Zum 1000jährigen Jubiläum belebte Äbtissin Lichte-Pfannkuche die Heringsspende in zeitgemäßer Form wieder: Alle zwei Jahre zum Ende des Schuljahres erhalten die Viertklässler der Walsroder Schulen süße Teigheringe. Sie werden an diesem besonderen Tag von den Klosterdamen durch’s Haus geführt und erhalten den Hering von der Äbtissin.