kleines Logo

Voluntary Work ...

Social responsibility and commitment, in earlier times known as charity relief, have always been part of the tasks undertaken by Walsrode Abbey. Funded from various donations and foundations such as the Herring Gift, food, clothes, cloth or money was handed out at set times to support certain groups of inhabitants. In addition, girls from socially disadvantaged families were taught the basics in Walsrode Abbey.

Rose

in the
Abbey Garden

Two important institutions in Walsrode date back to initiatives by ladies of the convent. In 1890, Abbess Theresa von Plato set up a day-care centre for the children of working mothers, as all too frequently infants had died while their mothers had to go out to earn a living. These days, the Day-care Nursery at the Waldbad bears the name of Therese von Plato.

As early as 1875, Prioress Amalie von Stoltzenberg used her personal wealth to fund the establishment of a six-bed hospital at the Lange Strasse; very soon, though, demand exceeded the available provisions, necessitating an extension; the hospital then passed into municipal ownership. The modern "Heidekreis Klinikum" hospital has its roots in this foundation.

These days, too, the ladies of the convent are actively involved in social issues, church and culture. Working in an honorary capacity as parish councillors in the local parish, or for the Walsroder Tafel, (a local food bank charity), in hospice work and hospital chaplaincy, in nurseries and old people's homes, the ladies of the convent thus continue the century-old tradition of service for others beyond their own communal life in Christian faith to the benefit of the wider community outside the monastery walls.

kleines Logo

Das Ehrenamt ...

Schon immer gehörte zu den Aufgaben des Klosters Walsrode das soziale Engagement, früher Armenfürsorge genannt. Aus verschiedenen Spenden und Stiftungen wie der Heringsspende wurden zu festgelegten Terminen bestimmte Bevölkerungsgruppen mit Nahrungsmitteln, Kleidung, Tuchen oder Geld unterstützt. Auch wurden im Kloster Mädchen aus sozial schwachen Familien in den wichtigsten Grundkenntnissen unterrichtet.

Rose im Klostergarten

Zwei wichtige Walsroder Einrichtungen gehen auf das Engagement von Klosterdamen zurück. Äbtissin Therese von Plato gründete 1890 eine „Warteschule für Kinder", nach heutigem Verständnis Krippe, Hort und Kindergarten für die Kinder berufstätiger Mütter. Allzu oft waren Kleinkinder zu Tode gekommen, während ihre Mütter einer notwendigen Erwerbstätigkeit nachgingen. Heute trägt die Paritätische Kindertagesstätte am Waldbad den Namen der Therese von Plato.

Bereits 1875 gründete die Priorin Amalie von Stoltzenberg aus ihrem persönlichen Vermögen ein Krankenhaus mit sechs Betten in der Langen Straße, das aber schon schnell nicht mehr der großen Nachfrage gerecht werden konnte, erweitert wurde und bald in die Hand der Stadt Walsrode überging. Das heutige Heidekreis-Klinikum geht auf diese Gründung zurück.

Auch in unserer Zeit engagieren sich die Klosterdamen im sozialen, kirchlichen und kulturellen Bereich. Mit ehrenamtlichen Aufgaben zum Beispiel als Kirchenvorstände in der Kirchengemeinde, in der Arbeit der Walsroder Tafel, im Hospizdienst, der Krankenhausseelsorge, in Kindergärten und Altenheimen führen die Konventualinnen eine Jahrhunderte alte Tradition des Dienstes am Nächsten fort, die über das christlich fundierte Leben in der Gemeinschaft in die Stadt hinaus wirkt.